Focus on special teams: 3 questions for the Gehrig Twins

We are pleased to welcome very special female bike celebrities at Mondraker Enduro2: The Enduro bike pros Gehrig Twins. Read in our series "3 questions for..." how the sisters Anita and Caro Gehrig harmonize within the Norco Twins Racing Team, if they don't wish for a bit more individuality rather than being a twin pack and what they expect from Mondraker Enduro2 in Davos. 

Mondraker Enduro2: As professional bikers you are usually competing against each other in the Enduro races. But you've also ridden a race as a team, where the uphill sections were timed as well. One of you had some more difficulties on the track... How well do you harmonize as a team in a race?
Gehrig Twins: As twins we are and have always been on the road as a team of two. We know each other inside out and do all our training together. So for us it is the most normal thing in the world to chase each other down a trail. When we ride as a team, we of course try to cheer and push each other on additionally.

Mondraker Enduro2: The "Gehrig Twins" have become an established brand in the bike scene. What's it like to be called and identified as twins in the same profession all the time? Don't you sometimes feel the need for more individuality?
Gehrig Twins: Well, we've had more than 30 years to get used to it... We share our success even more, because people usually don't know which of us was the faster one anyway. That's not so bad at all – because we achieve our success together. Of course you're happy if you were the faster twin, but our competition is limited. Basically our motto is "US against the rest of the world". Being beaten by your sister isn't as bad as being beaten by someone else.

Mondraker Enduro2: What are your expectations at the Mondraker Enduro2 in Davos?
Gehrig Twins: Mainly we want to have a good time. It's also a great opportunity to add the finishing touches on our performance for our season's highlight, the Enduro World Series race in Zermatt two weeks later. There is simply nothing better than riding against the clock.

New Event Name

Mondraker Enduro2 becomes MONDRAKER ENDURO TEAM.

New Posts

Enduro2 2019 Highlights

Contact

Bike Events Davos
c/o Bike Academy GmbH
Bahnhofstrasse 8
7260 Davos Dorf

mail: info@enduro-team.ch
web: enduro-team.ch
phone: +41 81 420 72 20

#enduro.team.ch

CONTACT US

WE WILL ANSWER YOUR QUESTIONS!

Bike Events Davos, c/o Bike Academy GmbH, Bahnhofstrasse 8, 7260 Davos Dorf
Email info@enduro-team.ch, Telefon +41 81 420 72 20
#enduro.team.ch

LET’S TALK

Besondere Teams im Fokus: 3 Fragen an die Gehrig Twins

Wir freuen uns, mit den Enduro-Profis Gehrig Twins in diesem Jahr ganz besondere Damen-Bike-Prominenz bei Mondraker Enduro2 zu begrüssen. Lest in unserer Serie «3 Fragen an…» wie die Schwestern Anita und Caro Gehrig im Norco Twins Racing Team harmonieren, ob sie sich nicht manchmal etwas mehr Individualität als Doppelpack wünschen und was sie von Mondraker Enduro2 in Davos erwarten. 

Mondraker Enduro2: Als Profi-Bikerinnen seid ihr in den Enduro-Rennen normalerweise Konkurrentinnen. Ihr seid aber auch schon im Zweierteam ein Rennen gefahren, bei dem auch die Zeiten bergauf gemessen wurden. Eine von euch ist da teilweise ein wenig auf der Strecke geblieben… Wie gut harmoniert ihr als Team in einem Enduro-Rennen?
Gehrig Twins: Als Zwillinge sind und waren wir ständig und schon immer als Zweierteam unterwegs. Wir kennen uns in- und auswendig und absolvieren unser gesamtes Training zusammen. Für uns ist es also das Normalste auf der Welt, hintereinander einen Trail runterzujagen. Wenn wir als Team zusammen ein Rennen fahren, versuchen wir uns natürlich noch zusätzlich gegenseitig anzufeuern und zu pushen.

Mondraker Enduro2: Die «Gehrig Twins» sind mittlerweile eine etablierte Marke in der Bike-Szene. Wie ist es, als Zwillinge im gleichen Beruf ständig im Doppelpack genannt und identifiziert zu werden? Habt ihr manchmal nicht das Bedürfnis nach mehr Individualität?
Gehrig Twins: Nun, wir hatten ja schon über 30 Jahre Zeit, uns daran zu gewöhnen… Unsere Erfolge teilen wir dadurch noch mehr, denn die Leute wissen meist sowieso nicht, wer von uns nun die Schnellere war. Das ist auch gar nicht so schlimm – denn zum Erfolg kommen wir schliesslich zu zweit. Natürlich freut man sich, wenn man der schnellere Twin war, aber unser Konkurrenzkampf hält sich in Grenzen. Grundsätzlich ist unser Motto einfach «WIR gegen den Rest der Welt». Von der Schwester geschlagen zu werden, ist nicht so schlimm, wie von jemand anderem.

Mondraker Enduro2: Was sind eure Erwartungen bei Mondraker Enduro2 in Davos?
Gehrig Twins: Hauptsächlich wollen wir eine gute Zeit haben. Zudem ist es eine tolle Gelegenheit, uns den letzten Schliff vor unserem Saisonhöhepunkt zu holen, dem Enduro-World-Series-Rennen in Zermatt, welches zwei Wochen später stattfindet. Dafür gibt es schlicht nichts Besseres, als gegen die Uhr zu fahren.

Neuer Eventname

Mondraker Enduro2 wird MONDRAKER ENDURO TEAM.

Neue Beiträge

Enduro2 2019 Highlights

Kontakt

Bike Events Davos
c/o Bike Academy GmbH
Bahnhofstrasse 8
7260 Davos Dorf

mail: info@enduro-team.ch
web: enduro-team.ch
phone: +41 81 420 72 20

#enduro.team.ch

KONTAKT

WIR BEANTWORTEN DEINE FRAGEN GERNE!

Bike Events Davos, c/o Bike Academy GmbH, Bahnhofstrasse 8, 7260 Davos Dorf
Email info@enduro-team.ch, Telefon +41 81 420 72 20
#enduro.team.ch

LET’S TALK