Challenging weather, dirt and lots of fun at Mondraker Enduro2 in Davos

From 5th to 7th September 2019, the international enduro mountain bike scene met in Davos, Switzerland, for the 3rd edition of the Mondraker Enduro2, a race for teams of two with an extremely high fun factor. Despite the nasty and cold weather with rain and even snow, the 450 riders enjoyed the alpine race on the first-class trails around the destination of Davos Klosters, and the extraordinary sportsmanship within the international mountain biking community. In future, the event will take place under the name MONDRAKER ENDURO TEAM. 

Rain, snow and the cold could not dampen the good mood. Despite the weather, the event and the Davos Klosters region were once again very well received by the international participants: "The trails are simply perfect even with rain and snow", "endless dirt and fun", or "the coolest and most flexible mountain bike event far and wide!” was the unanimous feedback of the 225 tough teams of two from 24 nations from Europe and the whole world, who have covered 9 stages on their bikes in the last three days. Originally there were 13 planned stages, but due to snow and landslides, some of them had to be cancelled at short notice. On the transfer stages in between, often supported by mountain railways, the clock was stopped and the riders had time to chat with participants from foreign countries and live the international mountain bike community. The impressive alpine scenery of the Grisons mountains unfortunately was hidden in the clouds – however, every one had a lot of fun.

Winning is secondary
In the Mens category, basically the same teams as last year fought for the top places. In the end, the race was again won by the WHEELER - iXS team with Stefan Peter and Tim Bratsch with 1h 03min 38sec, a bit more than a minute ahead of Nick Beer and Daniel Eymann of the team mtbeer.ch - BiXS - DT Swiss. The British team The Dudes of Hazzard with Liam Moynihan and James Shirley finished 3rd.
In the newly created 77+ category, the Tanner twins Jürg and Markus Tanner won after they had to settle for a lower ranking last year due to illness. 2nd place went to team fusion-world.ch/bikeride.ch with Othmar Künzli and Anthony Mayr, 3rd place went to the Old Brothers BC Titlis with Dany Häfliger and Fredy Rohrer.
In the Mixed category, team NonDeBizz with Sébastien Angiolini and Clivia Gobat took the win. However, snowboard pro Nevin Galmarini proved to be very fast on the bike as well and became 2nd, together with team mate Stefanie Thalmann, as team Love the ride / No shortcuts. 3rd place went to the SWOOTH VOJO TEAM from Belgium, with Tim Jacobs and Kristien Achten.
In the women's category, the favourites Anita and Carolin Gehrig from Team Norco Twins Racing clearly prevailed with 1h 17min 17sec, a good 7 minutes ahead of the other sisters Ramona and Jennifer Kupferschmied, Team Swiss MTB Girls powered by STOLL. 3rd place went to Daniela Michel and Anja Rohrer from Team FlitzChicks RC Steffisburg.
Despite some close battles on the trails, everyone agrees: In this fun team event winning is secondary, fun is everything.

Conclusion: Fantastic mountain bike festival despite nasty weather
For the organizing committee, the extreme weather conditions became a really big challenge. "Our goal was to show experienced mountain bikers from all over the world the most beautiful trails of the destination Davos Klosters in the best company", Britta Wild sums up. "We finally succeeded again, despite the rain and snow. It was, once again, another fantastic mountain bike festival!” Race director Michi Wild is also satisfied with the event: "Because of the really bad weather we had to be extremely flexible and decide on a daily basis which stages we’re able to ride. Fortunately, we are a well-functioning team and the Davos Klosters mountain railways, which make the event possible thanks to their transportation network, always handled our short-term changes brilliantly! Like this, the riders were always in a great mood, despite the dirt and cold." A big thank you also goes to the 50 volunteers, without whom the event could not have taken place.

2020: fourth edition under new name MONDRAKER ENDURO TEAM
Next year, the established team enduro fun race for experienced mountain bikers will take place again in Davos Klosters, from September 3 to 5, 2020. The event will run under the new name MONDRAKER ENDURO TEAM: "The basic idea, the proven and appreciated ideology and the organizing committee will remain the same”, Britta Wild promises and explains: “We still have a lot of ideas to further develop our independent fun event, always following the motto, more fun for bikers by bikers. The new name offers more options – just wait for the surprise!” Information on the extended concept and the possibility to register will follow in autumn 2019. With the changing of the name, a new website has already been released: www.enduro-team.ch aufgeschaltet.

Rankings 2019
You can find all the rankings of Mondraker Enduro2 2019 here:
https://timing.sportident.com/de/results/2019/enduro2

New Event Name

Mondraker Enduro2 becomes MONDRAKER ENDURO TEAM.

New Posts

Enduro2 2019 Highlights

Contact

Bike Events Davos
c/o Bike Academy GmbH
Bahnhofstrasse 8
7260 Davos Dorf

mail: info@enduro-team.ch
web: enduro-team.ch
phone: +41 81 420 72 20

#enduro.team.ch

CONTACT US

WE WILL ANSWER YOUR QUESTIONS!

Bike Events Davos, c/o Bike Academy GmbH, Bahnhofstrasse 8, 7260 Davos Dorf
Email info@enduro-team.ch, Telefon +41 81 420 72 20
#enduro.team.ch

LET’S TALK

Wetterkapriolen, Dreck und viel Spass bei Mondraker Enduro2 in Davos

Vom 5. bis 7. September 2019 traf sich die internationale Enduro-Mountainbike-Szene bereits zum dritten Mal im bündnerischen Davos zum Mondraker Enduro2, einem Rennen für Zweierteams mit maximalem Spassfaktor. Trotz äusserst garstigem Wetter mit Regen, Kälte und sogar Schnee genossen die 450 Fahrer und Fahrerinnen das alpine Rennabenteuer auf den erstklassigen Trails rund um die Destination Davos Klosters und pflegten die aussergewöhnliche Kameradschaft der internationalen Mountainbike-Community. Zukünftig findet der Event unter dem Namen MONDRAKER ENDURO TEAM statt. 

Regen, Schnee und Kälte konnten der guten Stimmung nichts anhaben. Trotz wirklich argem Wetter kamen der Anlass und die Region Davos Klosters beim internationalen Teilnehmerfeld wieder überaus gut an: „Die Trails sind auch mit Regen und Schnee einfach perfekt“, „Dreck und Spass ohne Ende“, oder „der coolste und flexibelste Mountainbike-Event weit und breit!“ So klang es fast einhellig bei den 225 hartgesottenen Zweierteams aus 24 Nationen von Europa und der ganzen Welt, die in den vergangenen drei Tagen 9 sogenannte «Stages», also gemessene Abschnitte, auf dem Bike zurückgelegt haben. Ursprünglich wären 13 davon geplant gewesen – aufgrund von Schnee und Erdrutschen mussten einige Stages aber kurzfristig weggelassen werden. Auf den Transfer-Etappen dazwischen, oft unterstützt von Bergbahnen, wurde die Uhr angehalten und die Fahrer und Fahrerinnen hatten Zeit, mit anderen Rennteilnehmern aus fernen Ländern zu plaudern und die internationale Bike-Community zu pflegen, wenn sich schon die eindrückliche alpine Kulisse der Bündner Berge in den Wolken versteckte. Dennoch war es für alle ein riesengrosser Spass.

Gewinnen ist zweitrangig
In der Kategorie Men kämpften im Wesentlichen die gleichen Teams wie im Vorjahr um die Top-Plätze. Das Rennen machte letztlich wieder das WHEELER – iXS Team mit Stefan Peter und Tim Bratsch mit 1h 03min 38sec und gut einer Minute Vorsprung auf Nick Beer und Daniel Eymann vom Team mtbeer.ch – BiXS – DT Swiss. Auf Rang 3 klassier­te sich das britische Team The Dudes of Hazzard mit Liam Moynihan und James Shirley.
In der neu geschaffenen Kategorie 77+ holten sich die Tanner Twins mit Jürg und Markus Tanner den Sieg, nachdem sie im Vorjahr wegen Krankheit nicht hatten Vollgas geben können. Platz 2 ging an Team fusion-world.ch/bikeride.ch mit Othmar Künzli und Anthony Mayr, Rang 3 an die Old Brothers BC Titlis mit Dany Häfliger und Fredy Rohrer.
In der Kategorie Mixed machte das Team NonDeBizz mit Sébastien Angiolini und Clivia Gobat das Rennen. Snowboard-Profi Nevin Galmarini bewies allerdings, dass er auch auf dem Bike sehr schnell ist und holte sich mit seiner Kollegin Stefanie Thalmann als Team Love the ride / No shortcuts den starken 2. Platz. Auf Rang 3 klassierte sich das belgische SWOOTH VOJO TEAM mit Tim Jacobs und Kristien Achten.
In der Kategorie Women setzten sich die Favoritinnen Anita und Carolin Gehrig vom Team Norco Twins Racing mit 1h 17min 17sec klar durch, gut 7 Minuten vor den anderen Schwestern Ramona und Jennifer Kupferschmied, Team Swiss MTB Girls powered by STOLL. Rang 3 ging an Daniela Michel und Anja Rohrer vom Team FlitzChicks RC Steffisburg.
Trotz den teilweise harten Fights sind sich alle einig: Gewinnen ist bei diesem Plausch-Team-Event zweitrangig. An erster Stelle steht schlicht und einfach der Spass.

Fazit: Fantastisches Mountainbike-Fest trotz Wetterkapriolen
Für das Organisationskomitee wurden die Wetterkapriolen zu einer ganz besonderen Herausforderung. „Unser Ziel war es, erfahrenen Mountainbikern aus aller Welt in bester Gesellschaft die schönsten Trails der Destination Davos Klosters zu zeigen“, fasst Britta Wild zusammen. „Dies ist uns trotz sehr viel Regen und Schnee auch diesmal geglückt. Es war erneut ein fantastisches Mountainbike-Fest!“ Auch Rennleiter Michi Wild gibt sich nach dem Event zufrieden: „Wegen dem wirklich schlechten Wetter mussten wir extrem flexibel sein und von Tag zu Tag entscheiden, welche Stages wir fahren können. Zum Glück sind wir ein eingespieltes Team und auch die Bergbahnen Davos Klosters, die den Event dank ihrem dichten Transportnetz überhaupt erst ermöglichen, handhabten unsere stets kurzfristigen Änderungen grandios! So herrschte unter den Fahrern trotz Dreck und Kälte immer eine top Stimmung.» Ein ganz grosser Dank geht auch an die rund 50 freiwilligen Helfer und Helferinnen, ohne die der Anlass nicht durchgeführt werden könnte.

2020: Viertaustragung unter neuem Namen MONDRAKER ENDURO TEAM
Auch nächstes Jahr findet das etablierte Team-Enduro-Plauschrennen in Davos Klosters für erfahrene Mountainbiker wieder statt und zwar vom 3. bis 5. September 2020. Der Event läuft neu unter dem Namen MONDRAKER ENDURO TEAM: «Die Grundidee, die bewährte und geschätzte Ideologie sowie das Organisationskomitee bleiben gleich», versichert Britta Wild und erklärt weiter: «Wir haben aber noch viele Ideen und wollen unseren unabhängigen Fun-Event weiterentwickeln, immer nach dem Motto, noch mehr Spass von Bikern für Biker. Der neue Name lässt hier mehr Möglichkeiten offen – lasst euch überraschen!» Infos zum erweiterten Konzept und Anmeldemöglichkeit gibt es ab Herbst 2019. Im Zuge der Namensänderung wurde auch bereits die neue Webseite www.enduro-team.ch aufgeschaltet.

Rangliste 2019
Alle Ranglisten zu Mondraker Enduro2 Davos 2019 findest du hier:
https://timing.sportident.com/de/results/2019/enduro2

Neuer Eventname

Mondraker Enduro2 wird MONDRAKER ENDURO TEAM.

Neue Beiträge

Enduro2 2019 Highlights

Kontakt

Bike Events Davos
c/o Bike Academy GmbH
Bahnhofstrasse 8
7260 Davos Dorf

mail: info@enduro-team.ch
web: enduro-team.ch
phone: +41 81 420 72 20

#enduro.team.ch

KONTAKT

WIR BEANTWORTEN DEINE FRAGEN GERNE!

Bike Events Davos, c/o Bike Academy GmbH, Bahnhofstrasse 8, 7260 Davos Dorf
Email info@enduro-team.ch, Telefon +41 81 420 72 20
#enduro.team.ch

LET’S TALK