Second chance: DirtBoogers win FUN-TEAM entry after bad luck with an injury

MONDRAKER ENDURO TEAM 2021 in Davos Klosters was completely sold out within just four days. To thank our loyal community, we raffled off a starting place each for a FUN TEAM and for a team of two in February.In the meantime, out of numerous entries and loads of good stories, we have chosen the deserving winners. The entry for a FUN TEAM goes to team DirtBoogers, who, after leading clearly, had to drop out of the competition last year on day 3 due to bad luck with an injury and now get a second chance. Read their story here.

The DirtBoogers – that’s Benji, Daniel, Marco and Nico. They live all over eastern Switzerland and took part in 2020 as a team of four in the new FUN TEAM category. However, they weren’t newcomers to the event – three of them already raced in 2018 and 2019 in teams of two. A season extension on the Canary Islands as well as encounters at MONDRAKER ENDURO TEAM in previous years brought the four of them together as an exquisite FUN TEAM. Obviously, MONDRAKER ENDURO TEAM unites like-minded passionate bikers. As experienced and also successful event participants, their motivation was extraordinarily high also in the fun category – perhaps a little too high, as was to turn out later...

The clear lead
The DirtBoogers put the pedal to the metal right from the start. The motto was to open the brakes and quickly race one stage after the other. The four of them succeeded excellently – and after two days of racing they were leading the FUN TEAM category by 7 minutes. No signs of duels far and wide. They were sure – without any breakdowns or major incidents they would easily take the victory.

The call that faded away
Would – because on the third day the stage from Jakobshorn down to Sertig came. The motivation was still huge, the mood constantly euphoric. Only Daniel suggested to lower speed and risk a bit due to the clear lead. However, with the epic trail in the DirtBoogers’ sight, his call abruptly faded away in the mighty mountain world... The volunteer at the start gave the go. Immediately, Nico pedalled as fast as he could in front, Benji and Marco wildly behind, Daniel at the end. It was a long stage – the longest of the whole race, with over 5 kilometres and more than 600 metres of descent. Fast again, the team crossed the finish line, cheering and with extremely broad grins on their faces. But – there were only three of them. One was missing. Where was Daniel? Immediately they asked the teams arriving after them – and they reported, yes, halfway of the stage there is someone sitting on the edge of the trail, holding his hand contorted with pain... Ouch!

The painful loss
A few minutes later Daniel arrived – to the teams’ amazement in full race mode. He so badly wanted to save some of the leading time, although all colour had drained from his face. When he reached the finish line, he was immediately given medical attention and taken to Davos hospital for an examination. The diagnosis: a broken wrist – and a painful loss for the team! The remaining three DirtBoogers finished the race, but since one team member was missing on the last three stages, the leaders fell out of the ranking. Yes, it hurt a bit – but compared to Daniel's injury this was only a small scratch on the ego...

The second chance
Daniel's wrist has healed in the meantime, motivation is back and confidence in the team has returned. Shortly after registration opened, the DirtBoogers wanted to sign up as a FUN TEAM for MONDRAKER ENDURO TEAM 2021 in Davos, to go for that unfinished business from 2020. But – how frustrating – the event was already sold out... "The entry draw seemed like a godsend – we just had to try it," said the DirtBoogers when they submitted their story. They convinced the jury with it – and thus get the chance to race for victory again as a FUN TEAM in 2021. "We are overjoyed and see it as a great honour that we will now get the chance to make up for the missed opportunity after all. Spectacle is guaranteed and we will once again give it all. Unless Daniel tells us to slow down a bit..."

Get Ready

5th edition 2. - 4. September 2021

New Posts

Enduro Team Teaser

Contact

Bike Events Davos c/o Bike Academy GmbH Bahnhofstrasse 8 7260 Davos Dorf

mail: info@enduro-team.ch web: enduro-team.ch phone: +41 81 420 72 20

#enduro.team.ch

CONTACT US

WE WILL ANSWER YOUR QUESTIONS!

Bike Events Davos, c/o Bike Academy GmbH, Bahnhofstrasse 8, 7260 Davos Dorf
Email info@enduro-team.ch, Telefon +41 81 420 72 20
#enduro.team.ch

LET’S TALK

Zweite Chance: DirtBoogers gewinnen FUN-TEAM-Startplatz nach Verletzungspech

Innert gerade mal vier Tagen war MONDRAKER ENDURO TEAM 2021 in Davos Klosters komplett ausverkauft. Im Februar haben wir daher als Dankeschön an unsere treue Community je einen Startplatz für ein FUN TEAM und für ein Zweierteam verlost. Aus zahlreichen Zuschriften und reihenweise guten Geschichten haben wir inzwischen die verdienten Gewinner erkoren. Der Startplatz für ein FUN TEAM geht an die DirtBoogers, die letztes Jahr an Tag 3 nach klarer Führung wegen Verletzungspech aus dem Wettbewerb ausschieden und nun eine zweite Chance erhalten. Lest ihre Story hier.

Die DirtBoogers – das sind Benji, Daniel, Marco und Nico. Sie leben über die ganze Ostschweiz verstreut und haben 2020 als Viererteam in der neuen Kategorie FUN TEAM teilgenommen. Eventneulinge waren sie allerdings nicht – drei von ihnen fuhren schon 2018 und 2019 in Zweierteams mit. Eine Saisonverlängerung auf den Kanarischen Inseln sowie Begegnungen bei MONDRAKER ENDURO TEAM in den Vorjahren haben die vier als erlesenes FUN TEAM zusammengebracht – MONDRAKER ENDURO TEAM vereint offensichtlich gleichgesinnte Herzblutbiker. Als weitgehend erfahrene und auch schon sehr erfolgreiche Eventteilnehmer war ihre Motivation auch in der Plauschkategorie ausserordentlich gross – vielleicht etwas zu gross, wie sich später herausstellen sollte…

Die klare Führung
Die DirtBoogers gaben jedenfalls von Anfang an Gas. Bremsen auf und eine Stage nach der anderen schnell nach Hause bringen war die Devise. Das gelang den vier vorzüglich – und so lagen sie nach zwei Renntagen mit 7 Minuten Vorsprung in Führung der Kategorie FUN TEAM. Weit und breit keine Anzeichen von Duellen. Sie waren sich sicher – ohne Pannen oder grössere Zwischenfälle würden sie den Sieg locker und allein auf weiter Flur in der Tasche haben.

Der verhallte Aufruf
Würden – denn am dritten Tag kam die Stage vom Jakobshorn runter ins Sertig. Die Motivation war weiterhin riesig, die Stimmung andauernd euphorisch. Einzig Daniel schlug vor, bei dem grossen Vorsprung etwas Tempo und Risiko rauszunehmen. Beim Anblick des epischen Trails vor den Fronträdern der DirtBoogers verhallte sein Aufruf aber jäh in der mächtigen Bergwelt… Der Starthelfer gab das Go. Sofort trat Nico vorneweg so schnell er konnte in die Pedale, Benji und Marco wie wild hinterher, Daniel machte den Schluss. Es war eine lange Stage – mit über 5 Kilometern und mehr als 600 zu vernichtenden Höhenmetern die längste des ganzen Rennens. Wiederum schnell und mit äusserst breitem Grinsen im Gesicht kam das Team ins Ziel und jubelte. Doch – da waren nur drei. Einer fehlte. Wo war bloss Daniel? Sofort fragten sie die nach ihnen ankommenden Teams – und diese meldeten, ja, da sitzt einer etwa bei Stagehälfte am Wegrand und hält sich mit schmerzverzerrtem Gesicht die Hand… Au weiha!

Der schmerzliche Verlust
Einige Minuten später kam Daniel angefahren – zur Verwunderung des Teams in vollem Rennmodus. Er hatte tatsächlich noch etwas Vorsprung ins Ziel retten wollen, obwohl alle Farbe aus seinem Gesicht gewichen war. Unten angekommen wurde er sofort medizinisch betreut und zur Untersuchung ins Spital Davos gefahren. Die Diagnose: Handgelenkbruch – und ein schmerzlicher Verlust für das Team! Zwar fuhren die verbliebenen drei DirtBoogers das Rennen zu Ende, da auf den letzten drei Stages aber ein Teammitglied fehlte, fielen die Führenden aus der Wertung. Zwar tat das schon etwas weh – verglichen mit Daniels Verletzung war es aber doch höchstens ein kleiner Kratzer am Ego…

Die zweite Chance
Daniels Handgelenk ist inzwischen verheilt, die Motivation zurück und das Vertrauen ins Team wiederhergestellt. Kurz nach Anmeldeöffnung wollten sich die DirtBoogers als FUN TEAM für MONDRAKER ENDURO TEAM 2021 anmelden, um die noch offene Rechnung von 2020 in Davos zu begleichen. Aber – welch Frust – der Event war bereits ausverkauft… «Die Startplatzverlosung schien ein Geschenk des Himmels – das mussten wir einfach probieren», so die DirtBoogers, als sie ihre Geschichte einreichten. Sie überzeugten damit die Jury – und erhalten so 2021 die Chance, nochmals als FUN TEAM um den Sieg zu fahren. «Wir sind überglücklich und sehen es als grosse Ehre, dass wir nun doch die Möglichkeit erhalten, die verpasste Gelegenheit nachzuholen. Spektakel ist garantiert und wir werden erneut alles daransetzen. Ausser Daniel mahnt uns, etwas Tempo rauszunehmen…»

Get Ready

5th edition 2. - 4. September 2021

Neue Beiträge

Enduro Team Teaser

Kontakt

Bike Events Davos c/o Bike Academy GmbH Bahnhofstrasse 8 7260 Davos Dorf

mail: info@enduro-team.ch web: enduro-team.ch phone: +41 81 420 72 20

#enduro.team.ch

KONTAKT

WIR BEANTWORTEN DEINE FRAGEN GERNE!

Bike Events Davos, c/o Bike Academy GmbH, Bahnhofstrasse 8, 7260 Davos Dorf
Email info@enduro-team.ch, Telefon +41 81 420 72 20
#enduro.team.ch

LET’S TALK