Youngest participant ever – Interview with Raffi Eggmann

The age of the participants in this year's MONDRAKER ENDURO TEAM in Davos Klosters has a very wide range, from 15 to 57 years – and thus connects generations. Raffi Eggmann from Münchwilen, Switzerland, will become 16 in November and thus is the youngest participant who has ever taken part in MONDRAKER ENDURO TEAM. We talked to him.

Raffi, you are the youngest participant who has ever ridden at MONDRAKER ENDURO TEAM. Is it just an honour or is there also a bit of pressure?
Of course it is a great honour for me to be the youngest who has ever taken part in this race. I'm lucky that they count by year – so I can already take part this time! So far, I don't feel any pressure – but shortly before the start I will probably get a little nervous...

How and when did you get into biking?
Through my mother. In 2019, she registered me and my brother for a BMX camp because we always have a huge urge to move. With that, my passion for biking developed. We have a pump track in our village where we often ride and jump – and in the last two years I got more and more into downhill. In the meantime, the whole family is involved – even my parents have been infected with the bike virus through us!

So, usually you rather ride big jumps and downhill. What do you expect from an enduro race?
In the middle of this season I finally got my enduro bike and got to know this discipline a bit. So, I'm really looking forward to my first enduro race. It will certainly be a great experience – but also a challenge, as I am not yet much used to the high alpine, natural trails.

How did you prepare for MONDRAKER ENDURO TEAM?
I rode our home trail quite often for training, especially to get familiar with the clip-in pedals. In summer holidays we spent two weeks in Tuscany. I also rode a lot of trails there. I haven't been in the alpine terrain much yet, but recently I was at least able to have a training day with my team partner.

Your team partner is almost three times your age. Aren't generation conflicts inevitable?
I hope not, or rather, I don't think so. He's much more experienced than I am, has taken part in dozens of races and is also faster than me on alpine trails. I can only benefit from him. I see it as a great opportunity and it would be anything but smart not to listen to him. Besides, the shared joy of biking tends to bring generations together rather than lead to conflicts. At least that's how it works in my family – a shared passion that unites.

www.instagram.com/raffi_downhill

Get Ready

6th edition
1. – 3. September 2022

New Posts

Enduro Team Teaser

Contact

Bike Events Davos
c/o Bike Academy GmbH
Bahnhofstrasse 8
7260 Davos Dorf

mail: info@enduro-team.ch
web: enduro-team.ch
phone: +41 81 420 72 20

#enduro.team.ch

CONTACT US

WE WILL ANSWER YOUR QUESTIONS!

Bike Events Davos, c/o Bike Academy GmbH, Bahnhofstrasse 8, 7260 Davos Dorf
Email info@enduro-team.ch, Telefon +41 81 420 72 20
#enduro.team.ch

LET’S TALK

Jüngster Teilnehmer eh und je – Interview mit Raffi Eggmann

Die Alterspanne des Teilnehmerfeldes am diesjährigen MONDRAKER ENDURO TEAM in Davos Klosters reicht von 15 bis 57 Jahren – und verbindet damit Generationen. Raffi Eggmann aus Münchwilen, TG, wird erst im November 16 und ist damit der jüngste Teilnehmer, der je bei MONDRAKER ENDURO TEAM mitgefahren ist. Wir haben mit ihm gesprochen.

Raffi, du bist der jüngste Teilnehmer, der je bei MONDRAKER ENDURO TEAM mitgefahren ist. Nur eine Ehre oder doch auch ein wenig Druck?
Natürlich ist es eine grosse Ehre für mich, als Jüngster an solch einem Rennen mitmachen zu dürfen. Ich habe dabei Glück, dass nach Jahrgang gerechnet wird – so kann ich schon dieses Jahr mitfahren! Bis jetzt verspüre ich noch keinen Druck – aber kurz vor dem Start werde ich dann vermutlich schon ein wenig nervös werden…

Wie bist du zum Biken gekommen und wie lange ist das her?
Durch meine Mutter. 2019 hat sie mich und meinen Bruder an ein BMX-Camp angemeldet, da wir stets grossen Bewegungsdrang haben. Daraus ist dann letztlich die Passion fürs Biken entstanden. Wir haben einen Pumptrack bei uns im Dorf, auf dem wir oft fahren und springen – und in den letzten gut zwei Jahren kam dann immer mehr Downhill dazu. Mittlerweile ist die ganze Familie im Fieber – auch meine Eltern haben sich durch uns mit dem Bike-Virus infiziert!

Du bist sonst also vermehrt im Bereich der grossen Sprünge und im Downhill zu Hause. Was erwartest du von einem Enduro-Rennen?
Seit Mitte dieser Saison habe ich endlich ein Enduro-Bike und habe nun auch diese Disziplin etwas kennengelernt. Ich freue mich daher sehr auf mein erstes Enduro-Rennen. Es wird sicher eine tolle Erfahrung – aber auch eine Herausforderung, da ich die hochalpinen, natürlichen Trails noch nicht so gewohnt bin.

Wie hast du dich auf MONDRAKER ENDURO TEAM vorbereitet?
Ich bin zum Training ziemlich oft den Haus-Trail in unserer Nähe gefahren, vor allem, um mit den Klick-Pedalen vertraut zu werden. In den Sommerferien waren wir zwei Wochen in der Toscana. Da bin ich auch fleissig Trails gefahren. Im alpinen Gelände war ich noch nicht oft, konnte aber kürzlich doch auch noch einen Trainingstag mit meinem Teampartner einlegen.

Dein Teampartner ist fast dreimal so alt wie du. Sind da Generationenkonflikte nicht vorprogrammiert?
Ich hoffe, beziehungsweise, denke nicht. Er ist deutlich erfahrener als ich, hat schon an zig Rennen mitgemacht und ist auf alpinen Trails auch schneller. Ich kann da nur profitieren. Ich sehe es als grosse Chance und es wäre alles andere als schlau, nicht auf ihn zu hören. Zudem bringt die gemeinsame Freude am Biken Generationen ja eher zusammen, als dass sie zu Konflikten führt. In meiner Familie ist das jedenfalls auch so – eine geteilte Leidenschaft, die verbindet.

www.instagram.com/raffi_downhill

Get Ready

6th edition
1. – 3. September 2022

Neue Beiträge

Enduro Team Teaser

Kontakt

Bike Events Davos
c/o Bike Academy GmbH
Bahnhofstrasse 8
7260 Davos Dorf

mail: info@enduro-team.ch
web: enduro-team.ch
phone: +41 81 420 72 20

#enduro.team.ch

KONTAKT

WIR BEANTWORTEN DEINE FRAGEN GERNE!

Bike Events Davos, c/o Bike Academy GmbH, Bahnhofstrasse 8, 7260 Davos Dorf
Email info@enduro-team.ch, Telefon +41 81 420 72 20
#enduro.team.ch

LET’S TALK